Spring took it's time coming, but then it completely passed me by it seems. I can't believe Gabe is already 5 weeks old! The day he was born, it seemed, was the day the daffodils bloomed. To me, that is when spring really begins. It took me a few weeks before I really ventured outside, and by that time the tulips were also in full bloom. However, within a week, the daffodils started dying and I felt I had missed something. Luckily I got to enjoy the apple blossoms in our backyard a little. What a heavenly fragrance! I should have taken some pictures before they died too. Now it is officially Summer (--school's out at least) and lilacs are everywhere. I decided to take advantage of the space we have in the back yard and plant a garden. We could only plant stuff that will be ready to harvest before we leave in August, and even then I'm not sure we'll get to taste any of it. The growing season is short enough here in Rexburg, and we got a late start on top of that. Still, my peas are looking good, and I'm sure we'll get to harvest them before we leave. Ethan had fun trying to help. The garden was a mess, and Richard was able to clear just enough space for our meager garden by hand. He got a few blisters I'm afraid.
We've really been enjoying the weather. Often in the evenings we walk to the park or elementary school playground and let Ethan wear himself out while we play some Kubb. We take Gabe in the sling and it puts him right to sleep. Ethan has been doing pretty well with the new addition, but he does feel the decreased attention and starts whining and hitting when he is not getting enough. When Gabe cries, Ethan sits there and yells "No" at him. Probably because we tell Ethan to stop crying and use his words all the time. Still, Ethan likes to come and give Gabe a kiss every night before he goes to bed, and he sometimes laughs at Gabe. I hope they'll become good friends.
With the good weather comes the dilemma of Ethan always wanting to be outside (I don't blame him one bit), and me having to feed the baby every other hour (Gabe's feedings start every two hours apart but they each last an hour. Ugh!) Needless to say, Ethan has been watching way too many movies lately. What a horrible mom I am. It's really the only way to keep him out of trouble, or away from me and the baby.
I have been able to get out a little more though lately, and we've had some really great barbecue dinners. Memorial day we got together with family and had a great time with great food. Besides that, we celebrated memorial day by watching The Majestic. It's one of our favorites, and we highly recommend it.
We've been celebrating Summer by putting up the hammock (which Gabe loves), letting Ethan play with the hose in the backyard, and yesterday Ethan and I flagged down the Ice Cream man and bought Ethan a orangecicle. It doesn't get much better than that.
Well, here's a montage Richard made for you. It starts in the hospital--where Ethan got my mascara again, and amazingly knew what to do with it--and shows Gabe from when he was first born to now where he's just starting to smile. Of course, we also had to throw in some of Richard's towers --or "towies" as Ethan calls them. As I watch these videos I'm constantly reminded what a disaster our house is. Oh well, I do what I can. Anyway, enjoy!
4 comments:
Those smiles by baby Gabe are so cute! Lydia saw him and said, "Hey, that is our baby".
I also LOVED that footage of Sparkles with the hose. He is so fun and adventurous.
Also, don't think of yourself as a bad mom for letting him watch TV. We are doing the same thing right now and it drives me crazy. It is only for a short time though, right?
great videos! we sure miss you guys.
I'm glad you guys are doing well, we love watching the videos. Those towers were very impressive! Chris couldn't get over it, he thought they were the coolest thing! Ethan looks like he is doing good as big brother and we love Gabe's cuteness! You're doing great! We miss you guys! Take care and remember to check out our blog: theallemanjamboreewithcnd.blogspot.com
What a great montage. I loved how Ethan kept upping the ante with his tower destruction! And Gabriel--what a cutie!
Post a Comment